Blog Series: Building Great Businesses – Introduction

by ellis j. still

In my journey towards being an entrepreneur, I have been blessed and fortunate to be surrounded by resources that have assisted me in achieving my goals. Being an entrepreneur is different from being a business owner in that business owners seek to maintain where they are in their venture, where entrepreneurs have a vision of growth for the future. There is nothing negative about either, and one tends to evolve into the other sometimes simply as a matter of choice, or by forces of the free market.

In the Newark, NJ area, there is a network of public and private organizations that equips people in building and growing viable businesses. Last year I attended the Inner City Economic Forum hosted by the ICIC (Initiative for a Competitive Inner City – http://www.icic.org ) in Washington DC, where I heard it said that Newark NJ’s collaborative network of public and private institutions serves as a role model for cities across the country. This comment resonated within me, and I have come to realize that public and private entities across the country may be seeking to create similar resources to address the challenges of entrepreneurs in their regional area in growing their business ventures. As a result, I decided to create a blog series featuring my experiences with the various organizations so as to demonstrate some ideas based on established institutions that genuinely collaborate to meet the needs of the business community.

© 2010, Ellis J. Still. All rights reserved

Disclosure of Material Connection: I have not received any compensation for writing this post. I have no material connection to the brands, products, or services that I have mentioned. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
_______________________________________________________
Thank you for taking the time to read this post. If you like what you read and you are not yet a Subscriber to my blog, why not subscribe now? All posts are original, there is no fixed schedule, so you would not have to check my blog regularly, and you will be receiving an authentic review of books, organizations and life experiences as a husband and entrepreneur. If you change your mind, it is easy to unsubscribe. Once you sign up, visit your email inbox to verify your email address. Check your spam folder if you don’t receive any verification emails. Thanks!!! ellis
