Faith and Fiction Retreat 2010

By: ellis j. still

On June 18 thru 19, 2010, Christian fiction authors, publishers, book enthusiasts, and myself will descend upon the city of Atlanta, GA for the annual Faith and Fiction retreat. I first heard about the retreat last year, which was held in Orlando Florida. Ironically enough, my wife and I missed it by a few weeks, having stayed 17 miles away in Kissimmee, Florida for a week for our wedding anniversary at Disney. Since then, I have looked forward to attending this year’s event (ask my wife) not just for the potential networking and advantages for the store, but to be in a warm atmosphere and meet some of the people in person that I have only had the opportunity to correspond with online.

Christian fiction is an important part of literature. It is a creative way of witnessing the Gospel of the Lord Jesus Christ. In the bible, Jesus often spoke and taught through parables to make a point, which is also the essence of Christian fiction. There is much dialog about what could or should be considered “Christian” due to some of the hard topics that the genre’s writers take on. However, Jesus never shied away from real life issues that people deal with every day. Sometimes you have to meet people where they are at in order to win them over. Paul writes to the church:

“Even though I am free of the demands and expectations of everyone, I have voluntarily become a servant to any and all in order to reach a wide range of people: religious, nonreligious, meticulous moralists, loose-living immoralists, the defeated, the demoralized—whoever. I didn’t take on their way of life. I kept my bearings in Christ—but I entered their world and tried to experience things from their point of view. I’ve become just about every sort of servant there is in my attempts to lead those I meet into a God-saved life. I did all this because of the Message. I didn’t just want to talk about it; I wanted to be in on it! (1 Corinthians 9:20-21 Msg.)”

We as Christians cannot sink our heads in the sand when things are uncomfortable for us. We are called to be a light for the world, and therefore, I support Christian fiction wholeheartedly.

Question: Will I see you in Atlanta? For more information and pricing, visit http://faithandfictionretreat.com/

© 2010, Ellis J. Still. All rights reserved 

Images taken from: http://faithandfictionretreat.com/

Disclosure of Material Connection: I have not received any compensation for writing this post. I have no material connection to the brands, products, or services that I have mentioned. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

_______________________________________

Thank you for taking the time to read this post. If you like what you read and you are not yet a Subscriber to my blog, why not subscribe now? All posts are original, there is no fixed schedule, so you would not have to check my blog regularly, and you will be receiving an authentic review of books, organizations and life experiences as a husband and entrepreneur. If you change your mind, it is easy to unsubscribe. Once you sign up, visit your email inbox to verify your email address. Check your spam folder if you don’t receive any verification emails. Thanks!!!
ellis
